All these words
were written by
A girl

Chelle/Female/21-25. Lives in San Diego, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes Music /Theatre.





In talking to Adam, I have discovered a lot about myself. I learn more and more with him and from him all the time. In lite of this, I've decided to make a life changing decision.

I'm gonna' be a vegetarian. Maybe even a vegan. Most people will tell me I'm crazy, or that I'm being a follower, or that in some deranged way, I'm trying to "fit in." I'm not guilty of any of this. I'm simply making a choice in MY life.. to not contribute to the horrendous abuse and eventual slaughter of thousands of innocent animals.

Adam and I had such a good conversation about this last nite. For those of you who don't know, he's been vegan for a few years now. It makes me so proud to talk to him about animal rights. We know that in the grand scheme of things, our decisions don't really mean much.. but at least we're making a difference.. no matter how small.

I feel that this world is in a sad state of affairs. 90% of people today are carnivores. Very rarely does anyone stop and think that there is something bigger out there... something bigger than themselves and what they like to eat. Yeah, I'll admit..meat, and cheese, and milk taste good.. and sometimes it's just easier to stop at McDonalds on the way home and grab a 39 cent cheeseburger and some fries.

But read This. Read This. Or This.

In a perfect world, those words and images would be enuff to convince anyone never to eat meat. Ever. But, whatev. I'm sure I'll catch a lot of flak for this decision, and I'm also sure that it won't be easy. But if I can shed tears over reading an article, then I can live my life without contributing to the slaughter of animals.

I think, really.. I have always had it in me. I've always opened my heart.. sometimes a little TOO much.. for the animals, ANY animals. It took Adam to really make me SEE.. to open my mind and my eyes.. to be my driving force, and I have a feeling that regardless of our relationship in the future, I'll always thank him for this.

I strongly encourage everyone to read the above linked articles. Browse the websites. Research what you're REALLY eating at The Outback Steakhouse, at Denny's, at McDonalds. I also encourage anyone who might be interested to click here. I don't expect everyone to make the decisions that I am making, but everyone has the oppurtunity to make a difference.

-*-*-*-
Currently reading: PETA.com
Listening to: Texas is the Reason - Johnny on the Spot
Thinking of: work in 2.5 hours. Gross.
-*-*-*-

09 Nov 02
1356 hours


<< yesterday // today // tomorrow >>



email - profile -aim - guestbook -old - dland



and 2 years later... - 11 January 2005
Chance Encounters - 05 April 2003
A month in the life - 07 March 2003
Skool - 28 January 2003
Worst 3 hours - 19 January 2003



"I have no doubt
that it is part of the destiny of the human race
in its gradual improvement
to leave off eating animals.."
-HD Thoreau

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Site Meter